Today in Wayne State microfashion…

“I like to dress up the 1940s and 1950s style a lot. I enjoy dressing up that way and I really like that particular era. The bold colors, the fabrics, the vintage clothing. I wear swing circle dresses, petticoats, pencil dresses, skirts, blouses, but I would like to own some of the 50s cigarette pants. I think fashion makes you look different and stand out in the crowd, it can help define your personality. My interest started when I was in high school, but I couldn’t dress up that way because high school is a very different environment. So I just watched older movies from the 30s, 40s and 50s and I just loved the way that actresses would dress up and present themselves. It’s very hard because there are other students who bully each other for dressing up that way. I would tell people struggling in high school to do what they want to do as long as it’s appropriate, express themselves the way they want to and just be confident in themselves.” Inspired by @humansofny

IMG_9431

Leave a Reply

