Comedian Jen Kirkman performs at the Crofoot

With appearances on Comedy Central, Chelsea Lately and Drunk History, comedian Jen Kirkman is back at it again as she continues her 2015 tour.

Following her Netflix comedy special titled “I’m Gonna Die Alone (And I Feel Fine),” Kirkman, a 40-year-old born-and-bred Bay Stater currently residing in Los Angeles, began her tour in Australia and is now performing in the U.S. She performed at the Crofoot Ballroom on July 16.

Kirkman joked in an interview before the show, “I feel like my life is more of a cautionary tale like, ‘Hey figure your life out before you’re my age. Don’t do what I did.'”

She continued, “when my audience laughs at my shows, to me, it means that other people have gone through what I have gone through or thought some of the crazy things that I think.The message I want to give with my comedy is: you’re not weird in a bad way, but enjoy your individuality and you are not alone.”

Kirkman also debuted her first book in 2014, “I Can Barely Take Care of Myself: Tales from a Happy Life Without Kids,” a New York Times bestseller. Her next book, “I Know What I’m Doing—and Other Lies I Tell Myself,” will be released on April 12, 2016.

Kirkman pulls jokes from her personal life experiences that her audience can relate to. This childless divorcee isn’t bitter about these experiences; she loves people to laugh and relate to them. At the Crofoot ballroom, fans from Metro Detroit came out to show support for Kirkman after discovering her from her Netflix comedy special.

“This is my first time seeing Jen live,” said Karen Kymla, a friend of comedian Brooke Van Poppelen, who opened for Kirkman at the show. “I really loved her performance tonight. I thought it flowed very well and I think the skits she does about her mom are hilarious.”

Kirkman’s audience laughed hysterically when she joked about “the girl that works at the frozen yogurt place” she always goes to.

“(The girl) asks me the same question: ‘Do you have any questions about how the frozen yogurt works?’ And I’m like, ‘Oh God no, and please stab me in the face with a spoon if I don’t know how frozen yogurt works.'”

Kirkman said she grew up watching sitcoms and always loved the arts. As a high schooler, she was a part of a punk rock band, and then in college, she fell in love with comedy.

“My friend used to bring a video camera and point it at me and I used to go on these rants and she thought I was funny. I didn’t think I was, but then I got more involved in going to see comedy shows,” Kirkman revealed before the show. “I started to get this feeling inside that I never really felt about anything else, which was, ‘I have to do this.’”

Sheila Kenny, Kirkman’s press agent, said that Jen connects with her fans through social media.

“She stays in constant communication with her fans via Twitter, Instagram, her website (and) her “I Seem Fun” podcast,” she said. “She comes out after shows to meet fans, sign books and take photos. Jen is one of the hardest working comedians and she truly loves doing comedy.”

Jen Kirkman will be performing the following shows:

San Francisco, CA: Friday, August 7

Washington, DC: Sunday, August 30

Philadelphia, PA: Monday, August 31

New York, NY: Tuesday, September 1

Cambridge, MA: Wednesday, September 2

Milwaukee, WI: Wednesday, September 9

Chicago, IL: Thursday, September 10

For more information, visit jenkirkman.com.

Contact Arts and Entertainment Editor Mayssa Masri: 248-924-7406 or mayssamasri.tse@gmail.com. Follow her on Twitter: @mayssamasri

 

Full article via: The South End

Leave a Reply

