Discovering My Love for Journalism

Maybe it’s the thought of hearing my name echo as I walk across stage that has me feeling sentimental. Or maybe it the thought of starting a new life for myself in the ominous and unknown world I call college. Or maybe it’s the fact that this is my last time being published on the Hawkeye.
I don’t know what it is that has me feeling this way, but all I know is that I’m going to miss the little memories that high school brought more than I thought possible.

Wandering through the halls four years ago as a confused and lost freshman surrounded by so many unknown faces, I never imagined leaving high school loving the personalities connected to those faces. I most definitely did not think that in just a few years, I would discover myself somewhere between all the mistakes I’ve made.

With all those mistakes, came lessons.

From ended friendships, I’ve learned to accept others as they are. From failed tests, I’ve learned to never give up. And from Miss Hammitt, I’ve learned self worth.

 I walked into room 107 this year not knowing that newspaper would teach me more about myself in 9 months than I had learned in 17 years. I’ve replaced my cocky attitude and narrow perspective with confidence and patience. Most importantly, thanks to newspaper, I gained the knowledge that I needed to prepare me for Wayne State.

All those nights I spent alone in my room, journaling every thought of mine away for no one to read was my biggest mistake in high school. This year taught me that my thoughts and words are important and worth knowing.

Thinking back at my high school experience, I guess you could say it wasn’t all too great. I did have some hopelessly sad days that even reruns of The Vampire Diaries and leftover pizza couldn’t cure. But, as high school comes to an end, I can’t help but reminisce about the good days I had this past year in this stuffy and awkwardly shaped school.

From embarrassingly girly neon colored pants wearing to naïve rebellious wannabe rocker-chic, I’ve finally grown into myself.

Leave a Reply

